Myself
Comments 4

A Taste of Cambodia | Part One

I have wanted to get back to Cambodia ever since I spent time there in 2008…an unbelievable seven years ago. Somehow life kept getting in the way, as it tends to do, and I always told myself I would get back there ‘next year’.

Well ‘next year’ was finally this year, when I bit the bullet and bought the ticket. Three amazing weeks spent trawling through one of my favourite countries. My first five days were spent in Siem Reap, which has undergone an incredible transformation over the past seven years. Gone is the sleepy little town that I remember. In its place was a sprawling, bustling city; a city that has clearly capitalised on the tourist boon that is the temples of Angkor.

Here is a taste of those first five days:

IMG_8617

My hostel: Sidewalk Never Die. Yes, I did choose it for the name, but it was a fantastic hostel and one I would highly recommend 

IMG_8543

Ice deliveries on the streets of Siem Reap

IMG_8626

Scooter city

IMG_8931

Sunrise at Angkor Wat

IMG_8875

Early mornings at the temples. This one is my particular favourite: Wat Bayon

IMG_8932

A moment of quiet amidst the intensely chaotic temples. The sheer amount of tourists at the temples of Angkor was a surprise…hugely different to my experience seven years ago

IMG_8944

Streets of Siem Reap

IMG_8894

Streets of Siem Reap

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Part 4 $500 11 days to 5 countries, 7 cities in South East Asia Siem Reap, Cambodia - Travelling Felicity

  2. Pingback: Part 5 $500 11 days to 5 countries in South East Asia- Siem Reap, Cambodia - Travelling Felicity

Leave a Reply

