Latest
Comments 15

Throw away the rules that bind.

It’s Friday afternoon, and I am elbow deep in Issue Eight of The Paperbook Collective. I should probably be nose deep in a glass of wine, but there is none in the house. That I can find anyway…

So I’m feeling a bit crazy, a little bit wild, slightly Mad Hatter-esque. And a thought just struck me.

Let’s throw out the rule book for good.

I had grand intentions when I first begun The Paperbook Collective. I thought it would be released promptly on the 1st of each month, it would include specific types of content, submissions would end on a specific date and it would all be very professional and proper.

But let’s be honest. Professional and proper? That’s not really my style.

So here are the ‘guidelines’ I created at the start of this journey:

Guidelines:

  1. All work must be original and unpublished. This means it cannot be found anywhere on the Internet; WordPress, Facebook, Instagram, Tumblr, etc. This is simply because the magazine is going to be original and creative, packed with new and exciting work that has never been seen before.
  2. You will remain the owner of your Intellectual Property, meaning that once the magazine has been published you retain the right to use your work afterwards in any way you see fit. You can publish it elsewhere or create links to the magazine. This may change in future issues but for now your work remains your work.
  3. I retain the right to edit your work in any way, but all edits will be run by you pre-publication for approval. Please note: these edits will not change the structure or meaning of your work in any way. They will simply be a method of ensuring the work is appealing on the page, and fits in with the design of the magazine. All spelling will be in Australian English, apart from obvious words or phrases constructed deliberately by the author.
  4. I will own the copyright of the entire magazine, as well as the title. This will not affect your ownership of your work, it is just a further method of protection. As I’m sure you are aware, there is no fool proof way of protecting your work on the Internet, but rest assured I will do everything I can to make sure the magazine and its contents are distinct and protected.

Ok, so number 2, 3 & 4 all make a lot of sense, and let’s be honest, they are for the contributors benefit as much as mine. But Numero Uno? Let’s get rid of it. I mean, come on. The inspiration for this magazine came from the fact that there was too much creative content on the Internet to keep track of. So what does it matter if you have shared your work before it comes to rest in the pages of The Paperbook Collective? There is practically a zero percent chance that any readers will have managed to find it, and if they have, then there is 30 or so other pages of creative goodness that are brand spanking new to them.

Now you may have seen that a little while ago we stretched the guideline stating that submissions could only be 800 words long. Stuff it. Let’s wipe that bad boy out all together. Send it though, send me anything. Preferably not the first draft of your novel, because I just don’t know how we would fit that in there. But a short segment of your upcoming novel, sure.

Finally, with my hectic schedule, and yours, lets lightly erase those date guidelines. Let’s not erase them altogether, but let’s use them as a loose guideline rather than something set in concrete. So, roughly, submissions are due in by the 20th of each month. And roughly, each issue will come out on the 1st of each month. But let’s not get too bent out of shape about it. Life has too many rules already, doesn’t it. This magazine is all about fun.

As always, I value your thoughts and opinions so do not hesitate to let me know what you think!

Here is a submission form for your convenience:

Submission Form_The Paperbook Collective

Go ahead and send through whatever you like!

And now here is a pretty picture for no reason at all.

IMG_4176

 Have a wonderful weekend friends.

 

This entry was posted in: Latest

15 Comments

    • Heya, I just checked and it seems to be working ok from my end! It is a Word document, so perhaps our computer systems aren’t compatible? I don’t really know about that stuff 🙂 I can email one to you if you like!

      • If you could email it to me, that would be great. I’m on a Mac and I have a free copycat version of Word so that’s probably why.

  1. This is every exciting, Jayde! Hopefully, it will be less stressful for you to have rough deadlines 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on 1WriteWay and commented:
    Looking for a place for your poetry, stories, essays, photography to be published both online and on paper? Jayde-Ashe of The Paperbook Collective has loosened up her guidelines a bit (much like me loosening up the waistline on my clothes … so much more comfortable :)). One highlight is she will now take submissions of work that has already been published, say on your blog or another website. This is great news for those of us who have published poems or stories on our blog and then been told that those works of art are not acceptable for submissions to other venues. So go to The Paperbook Collective, check out the revised guidelines and SUBMIT 🙂

  3. Great ideas Jayde, thanks for amending your rules. 🙂 Some months I simply don’t have new, unpublished photos that I think would be interesting to your readers but there are plenty of images in my archives that would love a second chance…

  4. I believe these changes are going to bring you a lot more input, Jayde – without necessarily flooding you with stuff seen all over the place. Gives me a huge breather, for I can send along the odd article sent to one of the online ancient people’s sites, meaning that no-one here will’ve set eyes on! 🙂 Goodonyer!

  5. Yes, number one is hard to track down without a doubt and word limits can be a bother…now…Jayde, I think it’s time you start thinking of getting co-editors working with you if you haven’t done so already. There’s just so much a single person can read and still have a life…and I wonder if I’ve been writing in Australian English…hmmm…

  6. This is great Jayde-now I can mark on my calendar the 20th of each month as due dates-thank you! I look forward to sending my stuff in!

  7. Thanks Jayde! Opens up new possibilities. I just don’t have time to create outside of what I am already creating. But I do have time to fire off a favorite story or two. –Curt

  8. Pingback: You’re Now a Raging Success | The Paperbook Blog.

Leave a Reply

