The Paperbook Collective
Comments 11

A Paperbook Tale.

Whenever you create something, no matter what it is, the greatest achievement you can hope for is that your creation touches someone’s life. Even in the smallest way.

The Paperbook Collective is a compilation of all of our contributors creative work, and I hope that in producing the magazine, I help in linking that creative work with people who enjoy it. I get a lot of feedback on the magazine from contributors and WordPress readers alike, which is always hugely appreciated. I probably don’t pass that feedback on to all of you often enough, as life has an annoying habit of getting in the way.

I hope that the magazine is, in some small way, helping people. Perhaps it is giving people the confidence to pursue their dream of getting published. Perhaps it is giving people more confidence in their photography, or their artwork, or their poetry. Perhaps it is giving people a place to receive feedback on their work from anonymous and unbiased readers. Or perhaps it is providing inspiration to readers through its varied content.

I also hope it is a lot of fun to be a part of.

I know how much I like to receive feedback on the magazine, whether it is through comments left on the blog, through posts written on other’s blogs (check out this amazing one by Marie Bailey), or through emails. So I thought I would share this little Paperbook feedback story with all of you. It is short and sweet but it warmed my heart. It’s stories like this which are the reason why I produce this magazine.

936618_126951247480022_1868873274_n

As some of you may know, over Christmas I was selling gift packs of The Paperbook Collective, which included Issues 1 to 4. Quite a few of my friends and family purchased them to give to others as Christmas presents…and so The Paperbook Collective word grows. One of my Aunties purchased two of the gift packs to give as presents to people at her work. Often in this situation I would never know whether those people loved the zines, hated them, or threw them in a bottom drawer to gather dust.

However, on this occasion, one of the ladies who received the gift pack popped into my shop the other day. If you haven’t had a look at my shop yet, it looks something like this…

IMG_8554 IMG_8552

…sorry, I am a bit proud of it.

Anyway, she told me that she had received the magazines, and loved them. She then said that their family kept them on the kitchen table, and each morning over breakfast they would dive in at random and read a new story, or a poem, or look at some photography or art work.

I just thought that was so incredible! The idea that this family kicked off each day with The Paperbook Collective was so touching, so inspiring, that it reaffirmed for me all the reasons why I publish this magazine. It’s not a big money-spinner and it takes a lot of time to produce each month, but the thought that this family is reading OUR work each morning makes it all worthwhile.

I hope you enjoy this little slice of feedback, and that it inspires you to work on a submission for future issues! Submissions are still open for Issue Seven, and will be until the
25th of January.ย 

Here is the submission form for your convenience:

Submission Form_The Paperbook Collective

And once again, as always, thank you so much for continuing to make The Paperbook Collective a reality. Without your contributions and your support, this project would have folded a long time ago!

So happy Thursday everyone, I hope your week is inspiring.

rg;oaevg;oe;gvn

11 Comments

    • I know how you feel Marie! I was exactly the same. I couldn’t express to her in words how touched I felt…she probably thought I was a little weird ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. My dear Jayde-Ashe, since you’ve been by my blog recently you probably figured out why I hadn’t been around here much at all, let alone commenting, while I was busy getting ready to get my own book online at Amazon. But I must tell you that, whether you know it or not, there are probably others like me who’ve dared to do the work and take the plunge in part thanks to your inspiration here! I thank you from the bottom of my heart. And wish you all happiness as you go forward!
    xoxo
    Kathryn

  2. Pingback: Interview With Jayde-Ashe Thomas, the Genius Behind The Paperbook Collective | 1WriteWay

Leave a Reply

