Myself, The Paperbook Collective
Comments 25

The Beginning of the End…

It is the beginning of the end of 2013.

This has been, without exception, one of the greatest years of my life.

I quit hospitality, overloaded university, started a blog, met incredible people, spoke on ABC radio, started a magazine, met more incredible people, created a zine, got in touch with old friends, took up photography again, reviewed new novella’s by the son of my homeboy, got involved in local initiatives, remembered how to draw, took pride in my dream and met even more incredible people.

Every single one of you reading this, and plenty of you who aren’t, have been a huge part of my 2013 journey. Thank you all so much for supporting The Paperbook Collective in all its manifestations throughout this year.

Here’s hoping that it will continue to grow and prosper in 2014!

As for me, I am planning on spending the entire day tomorrow, New Years Eve, doing absolutely nothing but relaxing, pottering around and reading. Every year since I turned eighteen, and probably a few years before that, New Years Eve has been one of those nights that I felt I just hadΒ to do something spectacular. Ninety percent of the time, it’s a pretty big disappointment. So my partner and I have agreed to stay in, cook an awesome dinner and drink plenty of gin.

It sounds heavenly…I can hardly wait.

1506976_127450484096765_1130728140_n

On a side note, I am still accepting submissions for
the first issue of The Paperbook Collective for 2014!

If you need an extra day or two to get your submission in don’t despair, take your time, send me an email and I would be more than happy to include it.

jayde.ashe@hotmail.com

1484305_1400697793510392_334185232_n

As a further random side note, here is a picture I took today while walking around my city.

I now have two questions to ask you:

1. What does it look like where you are?

2. More importantly, what are you reading?

EPSON MFP image

25 Comments

    • Ahh Spring, it’s the greatest time of year isn’t it πŸ™‚ I haven’t read The Master and Margarita yet, I’ll have to keep an eye out for it! Are you enjoying it Angelina?

  1. How does it look? Sunny, but with some cumulus clouds gathering with a promise of possible rain this evening. What am I reading? A Feast for Crows by GRR Martin.

    I think partying on New Year’s Eve is completely overrated. The wife and I’ll have a braai (what you Aussies call barbeque) with a glass of wine and off to bed early with ear plugs. Or we might watch The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi which I received as Christmas presents.

    Enjoy your New Year’s Eve. May it be spectacular πŸ˜‰

    • Couldn’t agree more Kokkieh! A BBQ and wine sounds perfect to me, we will be doing something very similar πŸ™‚
      Enjoy your New Year’s, and A Feast for Crows. Another one that I will have to keep an eye out for!
      Happy New Year!

  2. That sounds like a lovely way to kick off 2014. Especially the plenty of gin part πŸ˜‰

    Right now where I am looks….dark πŸ˜‰ But later today the sun should show its face a bit, through some grey winter clouds.

    This morning I will start reading “Writing Down the Bones” — looking forward to it!

    • I’m looking forward to the gin part Laura! Enjoy your book, and have a wonderful New Years Eve πŸ™‚
      Here’s to 2014!

  3. It is cold and grey here, but dry so I guess that’s something. I’m trying to get started on Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. That trilogy is part of my 2014 reading list. Don’t know if I will be able to whip anything up for January’s issue. Things have been a little strange here in December. But we’ll see. Have a Happy New Year’s celebration.

    • I read the entire book Girl With A Dragon Tattoo on an 8 hour bus trip through Laos in 2009. It was incredible. It is definitely a book that is best read in long sittings, so this is probably the perfect time of year to dedicate yourself to it!
      Don’t stress about the January Issue Princess, I hope everything is going ok for you guys over there. I’m sure we will have plenty of collaborations throughout 2014! Cheers!

  4. Nice choice of books, Jayde. I read it as a teenager… Along with the Alexandria Quartet, it changed my view of the world. πŸ™‚ Right now I am reading “Dark Star Safari” by Paul Theroux about his journey through Africa. –Curt

  5. Happy New Year Jayde! We are planning to stay home this year too with movies, great dinner and a couple of good drinks. πŸ™‚ Our weather is cold and grey but I’ve just started a new book, Dead Set by Richard Kadrey. I’ll have some photos ready for you soon…

    • Sounds wonderful Lisa! I hope you have an excellent night in, I am looking forward to my night in more than I can say. Enjoy the book! πŸ™‚

  6. Writing from Southwest Virginia, where it is 20 degrees celsius and no snow (darn it!). I came to your blog via The Talking Violin and your enthusiastic comments in the Year-End Post Special. I am all about enthusiasm and I too love books! Your NYE plans sounds great, and I do love your photograph of Lady Chatterly’s Lover (my book group read that as our “classic selection” in 2012.
    And today I begin The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.
    Happy New Year!!

    • Thanks for swinging by! The Talking Violin is a great blog, I was very happy to discover it through our collaborative post. I’m glad it led you here as I am always on the lookout for fellow book lovers πŸ™‚ Enjoy The Night Circus, and feel free to submit a review of it to the February edition of The Paperbook Collective!

Leave a Reply

