The Paperbook Collective, Uncategorized
Comments 24

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year.

It has been a truly wonderful year.

It feels so amazing to be able to say that, particularly with the hurdles that 2012 threw in my way. But I can honestly say that 2013 has rocked my socks off, culminating in one of the most incredible weekend I have had in my entire life.

These are pretty big, bold statements, aren’t they. And I haven’t even started drinking yet, although there is a lovely selection of Christmas beverages available in the fridge. I think the reason why this year has been so fantastic is that I have finally, after many long years, begun chasing my dreams. I have spent the past eight years pushing my dreams away, afraid that if I actually gave them a try I would fail.

And that would be embarrassing.

And I don’t like to be embarrassed.

This year, however, I have finally pulled myself together and given life a go. The result has been mind-blowing.

I spent the weekend down at a winery in the Margaret River region of Western Australia. It was a gorgeous place to spend the weekend, but I wasn’t just kicking back and drinking wine. Ok, fine, I wasn’t JUST kicking back and drinking wine. I did a little bit of work too.

I was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to take The Paperbook Collective on the road again, this time to be part of a smashing event called The Pop-up Collaborative.

IMG_7169[1]

It combines everything that I love the most – creative people, inventive ideas and brand new initiatives. Basically, two lovely ladies from the area decided to create an event which would showcase local talent and promote small businesses. Their first event consisted of only a few stalls, mainly themselves and their friends. The event I attended on the weekend, their fourth, boasted a whopping thirty-seven stalls in its entirety. Not bad huh.

Just goes to show how awesome, creative ideas take on a life of their own.

So I thought I would share with you some of my pictures from the weekend, and also perhaps show you a bit of what down south Western Australia looks like at this time of year. I know many of you are rugged up in front of the fire, whisky or red wine in one hand, book in the other. I, on the other hand, am sweating in front of the fan, eating ice to try and cool off in the 37 degree Celsius heat. For those of you in Fahrenheit land that’s 98.7 degrees.

I have spent the past few weeks getting ready for this event; my apartment has been packed to the brim with copies of The Paperbook Collective in various states of construction, as well as the first ever collection of my photography. It must have been driving my boyfriend and sister mad, but luckily for me they have been very accommodating. I decided to make Paperbook Collective Christmas gift-packs, so people could get their hands on Issues 1, 2, 3 & 4. All up I made about 50 copies of the magazine. As you do. I have a blister on my thumb from folding…but it was worth it.

IMG_7574[1]

IMG_7583[1]

I also handmade more Paperbook gift-cards, as well as some brand spanking Paperbook posters. They were a last minute idea but were popular with the crowds. Smiles and laughs all round.

IMG_7549

But honestly, the most incredible part was having the opportunity to share The Paperbook Collective concept with people, and getting their immediate feedback on it. I printed off a list of contributors so I could highlight the wonderful creativity and diversity that is contained in my humble little magazine. As you can only imagine, they were blown away by the variety and number of people who contribute to the magazine each month. It was a very proud moment for me.

IMG_7705[1]

So I spent three days spruiking The Paperbook Collective for all I was worth, in between checking out other creative stalls and sipping some beautiful chilled wine. It couldn’t be all work, now, could it?

Here are a few highlights from the weekend (warning, I went snap happy!):

IMG_7592[1]My stall. I loved it.

IMG_7598[1]The wine. I loved that too.

IMG_7623[1] The vicinity of the bar in relation to my stall. I’m not an alcoholic. Really.

IMG_7668[1]The weather. It was glorious.

IMG_7698[1]The location. Stunning.

IMG_7654[1]The modelling parade on Saturday.

IMG_7701[1]And the live music on Saturday.

IMG_7690[1]This cute as a button vintage caravan selling home-made ice teas, cupcakes, icy poles…you name it.

IMG_7697[1]And the beautiful outdoor café area they had set up under the trees.

IMG_7696[1]And finally, the fact that these two gorgeous ladies, who organised the entire thing, gave all of US bottles of wine at the end of the weekend to say thank you. How nice is that?

IMG_7691[1]

So there you have it, folks. A completely and utterly delightful way to wrap up the year. And by the way, if anyone would like to get their hands on some gift packs of The Paperbook Collective, send me an email and let me know. Or if you would like to get your hands on a pack of Paperbook gift-cards, for that matter. With Christmas just around the corner it would be a somewhat late Christmas gift, but a wonderful and unique one nonetheless. 

IMG_7706[1]

I hope you have all had an equally lovely weekend, wherever you are in the world. I hope that any festive craziness you are experiencing is the good kind. And I hope that you have had a wonderful year, and that The Paperbook Collective has helped to make it just a little bit more creative.

Cheers,

EPSON MFP image

24 Comments

  1. It wonderfull to share in your exitement and feel your happiness through these words and photos. It brings a smile to my face to see and know you are an epithome of how dreams do and can come true if we let them freely out of our heads.

  2. Its amazing to see the thrill and excitement you shared in this post. Makes me feel so proud of you and your efforts! I really like your work and the blisters just showcase how hardworking you are for your accomplished dream! Feels good:)

    • It sure does! Thank you so much for such lovely comments – without the support of everyone on this blog, I never would have achieved half of what I have.

    • Thanks John! Don’t worry, still plenty of time for Issue Six. Due to the holidays, I decided to release it on January 7th, the theory being that no one will be in the mood to read or submit around Christmas/New Years. So the official close of submissions is the 27th of December, but I’ll be pretty lenient up until the 31st 🙂

  3. I’m always so inspired when people share their fears and how they overcome them. Good for you! What finally brought you out of your shell?

    • Thanks so much! Honestly, I think the main thing was that this time last year I was working in a cafe – doing nothing, achieving nothing, and I knew I had to make some life changes to pursue something that I loved. 🙂

  4. M. R. says

    You have managed to get across something that many writers find difficult without falling into the trap of being prolix – a clear and unmistakeable enjoyment! Bravo! But, you know, I think the blister may’ve come from the string … 😉

    • Haha oh, rest assured it is a paper folding blister!! 50 magazines, approximately 36 pages each… that’s around 900 pieces of paper folded! Wow, I actually hadn’t calculated it til now…

    • It was a spectacular day! It’s lovely to meet people who are all running their own small creative businesses. Inspiring 🙂

  5. Wish I could have been there! Re your thumb blister, there’a thing called a ‘bone folder’ (made of plastic these days, and only a few dollars). You need one! I got mine from Fox Collections a few years ago, but try Jackson’s…

    • A ‘bone folder’…interesting! I will definitely look it up! Thanks for the tip 🙂 Yes, it was a wonderful weekend. I wish all my blog followers could have been there to enjoy it! I hope you had a lovely weekend too.

  6. Pingback: A Paperbook Update. | The Paperbook Blog.

  7. tonisbookblog says

    I’m glad you’re following your dreams. Wishing you all the best. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

