The Paperbook Collective, Uncategorized
Comments 3

Spotlight On…Princess Del oso.

How are your submissions going Paperbook people?

Are you going to be a part of the final issue of The Paperbook Collective for 2013?

It’s going to be spectacular, it’s going to be The Culture Issue, it’s going to be a celebration of all the parts of the world that our fabulous magazine is downloaded, read and enjoyed. Trust me, you don’t want to miss out.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Someone who I’m certain will not be missing out is one of our loyal contributors, Princess del Oso. She has submitted to almost every issue so far, but I thought I would shine the spotlight on her very first submission, 

Crossroads,

which was published in Issue One. 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Princess

To read the rest of Princesses story, check out Issue One.

PDF ~

The Paperbook Collective_Issue One2013

ISSUU ~ 

The Paperbook Collective Issue One 2013

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Five minutes with Princess ~ 

1.  What is your creative outlet, and how did you first get into it?

I have always had an over-active imagination.  As a young child I would make up fantastical stories to explain the world around me.  In junior high school I began writing down some of my imaginings and I still do that today.  I have also found cooking to be quite creative.  I really started to cook when my fiancée and I first got together.  I was trying to show off and win his heart through his stomach.

2.  What is your favourite book?

This is difficult because I enjoy many different genres.  I do mostly read classic literature.  But when I do read modern literature I enjoy Junot Diaz, Sherman Alexie, and of course Cormac McCarthy.

3. What is your idea of a perfect afternoon?

If it is sunny outside, then being outdoors with my fiancée, enjoying stimulating conversation on any number of ideas and having a cocktail.  If it’s rainy, then inside under a blanket, a good book, and a hot beverage – either spiked or virgin.

4. What is your dream job, or are you lucky enough to be doing it already?

I would have to say I am one of the lucky ones in that I am in control of my time.  I consider myself a writer, an amateur photographer, a chef, a gardener, a carpenter’s helper, a philosopher, a critical thinker, and a blissful wanderer on this planet.

5. What is one piece of advice that you would like to share with the world?

Be yourself.  It sounds easy, but it is in fact very difficult.  In this world there are so many voices telling everyone what they should be, how they should act, how they should think, that it is very hard to simply be who we are.  The quote on my blog sums it up, “To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment – Ralph Waldo Emerson”.

________________________________________________________________________________________

To find out more about Princess, and to read more of her writing, check out her blog ~

Perceptive Pot, Clueless Kettle.

________________________________

If you are a Paperbook contributor, and would like a spotlight on The Paperbook Blog, email me your answers to the questions above and the spotlight will be yours!

Send your answers through to: jayde.ashe@hotmail.com

Don’t forget to keep working on your pieces for Issue Five, The Culture Issue.

Submissions close November 20th.

Cheers,

EPSON MFP image

3 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for putting this together, Jayde. Working on my submission this week. Gotta get some editing done then it should be ready.

Leave a Reply

