John Steinbeck
Comments 21

A Month of Steinbeck.

A few things have happened to me this morning.

I woke up just in time to see the moon poking its head through my bedroom window.

IMG_6167[1]

I finished reading Bryce Courtenay’s Whitethorn…and was a little disappointed. More on that later.

IMG_6173[1]

I discovered that we had run out of milk for my morning coffee so I used cream instead. It tastes so damn good that we’re never buying cream again, to prevent a future heart attack.

IMG_6171[1]

We hit 250 likes on The Paperbook Collective Facebook page.

kjjkn

I got my hands on my new business cards.

IMG_6163[1]

And…

I received the email I have been waiting for.

The email that I have been hinting to you about.

The email that made my day, my month, heck, my whole year.

You may remember that I recently reblogged my post John Steinbeck is My HomeboyThis post has proved quite popular; perhaps because it encourages people to consider their own favourite authors, perhaps because it has a few interesting facts about my own favourite authors, or perhaps it was my gratuitous use of the word ‘homeboy’.

Whatever the reason, I’m certainly glad I wrote it. Because the email I received contained these exciting lines:

Since we can’t bring you a new title by your homeboy, John Steinbeck (we saw your post on how John Steinbeck is one of your favourite authors), we thought that you’d like to take a look at [some] writing by his son, his own flesh and blood, Thomas Steinbeck.

Would I? Would I ever!

I feel very honoured to be given the opportunity to read and review Thomas Steinbeck’s latest works. This is the first time someone has contacted me as a reviewer, and I’m thrilled that the author is someone as incredible as Thomas Steinbeck. Son of my homeboy. For those of you who haven’t read or heard much about him (as I admittedly hadn’t), I will be writing some in depth posts about his life and works.

I have mentioned in the past that a great author can never really die, as their life and their legacy lives on through their books. But I should also have mentioned that their legacy lives on through their children, and their grandchildren, and each and every single person who is inspired by their work.

So I cannot wait to begin to share with you this next generation Steinbeck, and as such, I am labelling November A Month of Steinbeck. 

IMG_6175[1]

I guarantee that by the end of it you will love the Steinbeck’s, both father and son, as much as I do.

In my humble opinion, all storytelling, and in turn writing, by virtue of its human origin, entails profound elements of performance. 

– Thomas Steinbeck.

21 Comments

    • Sweet Thursday is one of my favourites, but make sure you read Cannery Row first! They are incredible books aren’t they.

      • They are. I recently read Cannery Row and then went to buy Sweet Thursday. I have to take it slowly. I went on a binge after visiting the Steinbeck Institute and only have a few left before I start the cycle again (which I’ve already done – Grapes, EOE, Mice).

  1. I’ve only read one Steinbeck, it was the novella The Pearl and it was brilliant. I can’t wait to read more and now feel inspired to pick one up in November.

    You can read my review of The Pearl here, it drew some interesting comments as many had read it in school and I have the impression that to meet this story and his writing later in life can be quite a different experience.

    • Thanks Claire! I’ll check out your review, as The Pearl is one of the only ones I haven’t read! I feel that I might have confused some people with this post, as it is the work of John Steinbeck’s son, Thomas Steinbeck, that I am reviewing. Or have I just interpreted people’s comments wrong?? Either way, I’m looking forward to a month of Steinbeck!!

      • I’m looking forward to hearing more about Thomas Steinbeck as well, I guess most of us can only share our experience of reading the elder. 🙂

      • Yes, I’m exactly the same! I haven’t read anything as yet by Thomas Steinbeck, but I’m really looking forward to delving into his life and writing. And taking you guys along for the ride 🙂

  2. It’s awful if there’s no milk for one’s morning coffee. Or worse (what happened in our house yesterday), when you take your first sip and discover the milk is sour.

    Congrats on all the developments. It’s quite a thrill to get your first official review request. I can only imagine if it involves your favourite author to boot. Like Claire I’ve only read The Pearl (in fact I taught it to my 11th graders last year) but I loved it. I have The Grapes of Wrath on the shelf but have never gotten round to reading it. Maybe it’s time.

    • Ahh sour milk!! Yes, that is definitely worse!!
      Again, I think I might have been unclear in this post, as it is the work of John Steinbeck’s SON that I am reviewing, rather than the great man himself. Sadly, I can’t review anything new by him as he is dead…
      In saying that, read The Grapes of Wrath as soon as you can! It is truly a brilliant book, you will love it.

  3. That is so exciting! I would have freaked! I haven’t read any Steinbeck in years. We were taught a lot of Steinbeck in school. Basically, during units on the Great Depression and The Dust Bowl, when everything would just get sad and depressing out teachers would bring out Of Mice and Men and The Grapes of Wrath saying things like, “But look at the good literature that came about because of it!”. It didn’t exactly bring the mood back up, but at least we got to read amazing literature about it 🙂

    • True 🙂 Reading Steinbeck introduces that topic in a far more interesting manner than those dry old history books.
      I must say though, I obviously worded the above post terribly because it is Steinbeck’s son, Thomas Steinbeck, whose work I am reviewing. Totally different kettle of fish to his father, although I am looking forward to comparing their writing styles!

  4. Pingback: Writing, Horses and Projects That Take Time… | alexcordnews

  5. Pingback: NaNoWriMo, NovNov and A Month of Steinbeck. | The Paperbook Blog.

Leave a Reply

