The Paperbook Collective, Uncategorized
Comments 16

A Tentative Theme…And Other Announcements.

So, last night I rolled out the idea of having themes for future issues of The Paperbook Collective.

I received some excellent feedback!

The reason that I like to put forth these ideas for your consideration, instead of simply inputting them, is that we are a Collective. This means your opinion is just as important as mine.

There were some strong opinions for and against – check out those responses here: Team with the Theme.Β Please feel free to share your opinion, the more information I have, the easier it is to make a decision.

So I figure, in the interest of fairness, I will put forth a compromise. Not every future issue will have a theme, or, rather, the theme for those issues would be RANDOM or MASH UP or ECLECTIC…and so on. There will be plenty of issues like this so please don’t feel worried that your work won’t ‘fit’ with The Paperbook Collective any more.

Everything fits here, this magazine is one size fits all.

I promise.

I have decided to trial a theme for the December Issue, and see how it flows. So in saying that, I would like to announce that the December Issue of The Paperbook Collective will be …

THE CULTURE ISSUE

kjjnjnI thought this would be an excellent opportunity to celebrate the diversity amongst our contributors, we really do come from all corners of the globe. Please don’t feel like submissions will be rejected if they don’t ‘fit’ with this theme, I can assure you they won’t be. Instead, try and see this as an opportunity to stretch yourself, try something different, hell, maybe find some inspiration.

The Culture Issue can be interpreted in literally millions of different ways, you are only limited by your imagination.

You could write a story based in your country, or better still, your city or town. You could write a travel piece about a different culture. You could write something inspired by your culture or your life. You could write something futuristic or historic. You could write any number of creative-non fiction pieces about your country, elements of your culture, or the people around you. You could write poetry in a style that is unique to your culture, or another culture that you particularly admire. You could take photographs of literally anything you see in your daily life, after all, that is all a part of your culture. You could submit art work that represents your culture, your life, your home….

I could go on all day.

Another way to look at this is to view it as the COUNTRY ISSUE, or the HOME ISSUE, or the ME ISSUE….

I think you get the point.

As I say, this is only a trial, and if it doesn’t seem to work then there is no harm done. After all, experimentation is the key to life, or something like that.

I am really looking forward to seeing the many different ways in which this is interpreted. I think it is also going to be a really cool way of demonstrating the diversity of The Paperbook Collective contributors, and the fact that we are bound by nothing more than words and images travelling across the globe.

WORD COUNT:

As you know, I set the limit for submissions at 800 words. A couple of people have suggested to me that I raise this, as it is too restricting. So I am going to open it up and say that you can submit anything, providing it is not going to take me a week to read it!

Bear in mind that this is a magazine, so people want to be able to read an article in one sitting. But if you would like to submit something over the 800 word limit, you are more than welcome to.

As always, I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on these suggestions.

The deadline for submissions for the December/Culture Issue is the 20th of November, so you have a month to work on something exciting for the final issue of 2013.

In the meantime, I am still accepting submissions for the November Issue for the next day or so, so get those last minute submissions in now!

Have a great weekend everyone.

16 Comments

  1. Ah, you took the Henry Clay approach to the issue. Might be the best solution.
    And I think I can work within a theme of “culture”. I promise to submit something other than a rambling email. But I may ramble anyway. There’s just no telling.

  2. May I suggest an upper word limit of 2000 words? It’s a reasonable length for a short story (many competitions in fact use this as their limit) but won’t take up too many pages.

    • Sure, 2000 words sounds fine. πŸ™‚ Although if a piece is longer then it can be spread over two issues as I have done in the past. It’s all pretty flexible here!

  3. I believe this is the right way to go! Direct us more – and less in a way. Good thinking. I’ll try to come up with this last minute one too!

    • Well done on getting your November submission in time! I look forward to your photographs for the ‘Culture Issue’…plenty of nice ones of Sweden I’m sure!!

  4. Pingback: The Paperbook Collective! | One Starving Activist

Leave a Reply

