Uncategorized
Comments 3

John Steinbeck is My Homeboy.

Something absolutely incredible happened to me today.
I am keeping it under wraps until it is confirmed, but in the meantime, here is a hint.
For those of you who are relatively new to The Paperbook Blog, you may not have had a chance to peruse my top five favourite authors of all time, otherwise known as my homeboys.
This post is the reason for the incredibly exciting thing that happened today, so I thought I would share it with you again.
Who are in your top five?

The Paperbook Blog

So, I realised something today. It’s a bit awkward.

In nearly every post, I have either hinted strongly or stated outright that the author I’m writing about is my favourite author.

How many favourite authors can one girl have? As you might have figured out, I have plenty.

But in the interest of fairness, and in order to avoid finishing my final university assignment for the semester, I thought I would have a crack at figuring it out.

Favourite: [adj] preferred to all others of the same kind.

Let’s do this.

_______________________________________________

After an afternoon of pondering this conundrum, I have come to at least one conclusion: there can not only be one. I actually felt sick at the thought of picking one above another, feeling that they would be disappointed in me, despite the fact that, um, they’re all dead. So I have been very courageous and narrowed it down…

View original post 1,923 more words

3 Comments

  1. I too love Steinbeck (although admittedly haven’t read *as* many as his books as I’d like). My top 5 list is almost constantly changing, but I’d the moment I’d say:

    1) Richard Adams (he will always be #1, solely for Watership Down)
    2) Margaret Atwood (I’ve been devouring her books this past year)
    3) Ernest Hemingway (I think he sounded like kind of a dick IRL, but I gotta agree, the man could write)
    4) James Herriot (his series on life as a country vet are just so, so charming)
    5) JK Rowling (although I still haven’t gotten around to reading any of her non-HP books, I was SO impressed with how well-crafted that series was)

  2. Pingback: A Month of Steinbeck. | The Paperbook Blog.

  3. Pingback: When Good People Write Bad Books. | The Paperbook Blog.

Leave a Reply

