Blog
Comments 20

One Liners.

Something has happened to me.

Something terrible.

I’m suffering from writer’s block.

Sometimes blogging comes so easily, doesn’t it, and other times you’re wracked with doubt. I think it often happens after you post something that gets a pretty lacklustre reception, as my post did yesterday. I have spent all afternoon trying to write a book review, but somehow the words are just not coming out right. I haven’t reviewed a book for a while, although I have read a lot in the meantime. So now my Dashboard is crammed with half finished posts that I can’t bring myself to delete, despite the fact that they all sound as though they were written by a sixth grader.

So I have decided to put that aside for today. Luckily, the blog-world has provided a bit of inspiration for this post, as it often does when you are suffering from a creativity depletion.

I just discovered a new book review blog, called Lucybird’s Book BlogGo check it out.

She has just posted an interesting game, which I am going to shamelessly steal from her. Basically, she has posted the first lines from different novels, and you have to guess the title and author. I’ve got two of hers already, so pop over there for a guess before they’re all gone.

Some clever folk have guessed a few titles correctly, but there are still a few unknown! Go raid your bookshelf and see if you can identify the opening lines remaining. 

I’ve raided my bookshelf and come up with some great opening lines. Which do you recognise?

IMG_5871[1]

1. All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way. 

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, guessed by celestepoesie of lespoesietlespensees

IMG_5883[1]

2. Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral Arm of the Galaxy lies a small un-regarded yellow sun.

The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, guessed by KokkieH of if all else fails…use a hammer

IMG_5882[1]

3. When a day that you happen to know is Wednesday starts off sounding like Sunday, there is something seriously wrong somewhere. 

4. The naked man who lay splayed out on his face beside the swimming pool might have been dead. 

5. Ten days after the war ended, my sister ***** drove a car off a bridge. 

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood, guessed by Clare of Clare O’Dea writing

IMG_5880[1]

6. The studio was filled with the rich odour of roses, and when the light summer wind stirred amidst the trees of the garden there came through the open door the heavy scent of the lilac, or the more delicate perfume of the pink-flowering thorn. 

7. The past is a foreign country: they do things differently there.

The Go-Between by L. P. Hartley, guessed by celestepoesie of lespoesietlespensees

IMG_5881[1]

8. ******* ******** sat in New York criminal court Number 3 and waited for justice; vengeance on the men who had so cruelly hurt his daughter, who had tried to dishonour her.

9. We come sweeping up the tree-lined boulevard with siren and lights and when the GPS urges us to make the next left we take it so fast that all the gear slams and sways inside the vehicle. 

10. To the red country and part of the grey country of Oklahoma, the last rains came gently, and they did not cut the scarred earth.

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, guessed by Eric of Eric Keys

IMG_5887[1]

The beauty of this game is that it has caused me to flick through books that I haven’t read for a while, all of which are now sitting on my bedside table in quiet anticipation. Or tht could be a bad thing, as I have a ton of work to do…oh well.

How many of these books have you read? How many of these openers do you recognise? Off the top of your head, that is, no searching on Google!

IMG_5872[1]

If you’re suffering from a bit of writer’s block like me, hopefully this little brain teaser will get the ideas flowing again.

20 Comments

  1. #1 – I know this one but I can’t remember it right now…
    #2 – Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
    I’m stumped with the rest, but #3 and #7 definitely sounds like something I’d read. I hope you’ll be giving us the answers at some point…

    • Number 2 – you got it! Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I’ll definitely give you the right answers as they come in!

  2. eric keys says

    1 – War and Peace – Sadly, I never read it but heard the first line quoted many times.
    2 – HHGTTG – This was one of my favorite books when I was in my early teens. I would like to read it again but I’m scared it won’t be as awesome as I remember it.
    7 is familiar but is eluding me.
    10 must be Steinbeck. I’m guessing Grapes of Wrath.

  3. Yes! Number 10 is The Grapes of Wrath. Well done. Number 1 is not War and Peace…very close though…..
    And yes, 2 is HHGTTG. I re-read it recently. Still awesome 🙂

  4. It is so funny that this post is about you having writer’s block, because when I was scrolling through the reader this morning and saw this post I was like, “Geez, for not having internet Jayde is on a posting roll!”.

    This game is so fun. The only one I knew was #1! As I was scrolling the comments and everyone kept guessing War and Peace, I was stoked. But celestepoesie beat me too it! Nice job!

  5. YeaH! Just read the comments and saw you’re connected..at long last…I’m late to your game, but looks like a cool way to get around a block!

  6. I knew number two, but someone got it before me! I recognise 5 but don’t know what it is.

    Thanks for the link

Leave a Reply

