Uncategorized
Comments 18

In Which I Rant.

Hello everyone out there in the blogosphere.

This is going to be very short and…not sweet. Bitter, in fact.

As you know, I am mid-house-move. I’m sure you all know how exhausting it is to move house. The lugging of furniture, the cleaning, the organising, the switching of gas and electricity bills…

And. Connecting the Internet.

Connecting the Internet. You would think it is a fairly standard procedure, no? I mean, basically every house in Australia is connected in some way, shape or form to the world wide web. And yet, and yet…

APPARENTLY, IT IS GOING TO TAKE THREE WEEKS TO CONNECT THE INTERNET TO OUR NEW APARTMENT.

Three weeks. I am speechless. Last time I heard, Australia was a first world country…apparently not. So, it is with deepest regret that I say I will be offline for the next three weeks. I will be popping round to my parents, battling the weather to make my way to the public library, basically doing whatever I can to get online.

So, sadly to say, The Paperbook Collective will not be coming out on the 1st of October.

Instead, it will be coming out on the 7th of October.

PLEASE still send in your work!! Please help me, everyone, while I am unconnected, and remind your followers of The Paperbook Collective.

Email your work through to jayde.ashe@hotmail.com.Β 

Lastly, I apologise for the ugliness of this post. I am at the end of my very short tether, I am on an unfamiliar laptop which makes me feel slightly retarded, and I can hear my partner and my parents arguing about the Internet connection in the background.

I hope the past week has gone better for you than it has for me.

Rant. Over.

18 Comments

  1. Aww Jayde I’m sorry to hear of your internet woes. It is very frustrating (I had something similar happen when we first moved to Melbourne of all places!!!) so I can understand completely. Rest assured we’ll still be here when the next issue comes out. Take your time, we’re not going anywhere. *hands you a cuppa* My best regards, Lolly xo

    • Thanks Lolly!! The way I’m feeling, I need something stronger than a cuppa πŸ™‚ Thanks for your submission and I hope that Issue Three comes together despite my Internet fiasco!

      • Moving is so stressful, it’s one thing I really understand having done it so often. Remember to just lie back and relax from time to time πŸ™‚

  2. My sympaties…I too live in apparently first world country and we have these sort of problems all the time. Just be patient…this too will pass!

  3. Jayde I’m in Melbourne, is it Telstra you are dealing with? If yes, say no more… I ran a business from home years back and my Internet went down..took 5 weeks – I was compensated (as I kicked up a stink) for loss of business. You will be on track soon.

    • Hiya, thanks for the kind comments! I’m in down south Western Australia, dealing with Westnet. They are all a nightmare aren’t they!! I wish I made money from The Paperblog Collective, I would love to sue them for loss of business!!

  4. Hey,take your time and hang it in there!As someone coming out fresh from bad internet epissodes, I can tell you that you probubly deserve a delay after all that hassle!

  5. Pingback: Where It’s At. | The Paperbook Blog.

  6. I feel your pain Jayde . Having set up house sixteen times in the last 20 years I know the agony.But the good news is once you settle into the new place you forget all the trauma.
    good luck.

Leave a Reply

