Blog, Guest Post, The Paperbook Collective
Comments 10

Magazine, Guest Posting and all that Jazz…

It’s hard to believe, but here we are again.

The beginning of September is rapidly approaching, and with it comes the highly anticipated (by me) release of issue two of The Paperbook Collective!

As you can imagine, I have used this next issue as an excuse to spend hours downloading new fonts, hours that should probably be spent on university work, but not to worry. Plenty of time for that.

Famous last words.

fonts

IMG_5338

This issue is coming together nicely, and unlike last time I am NOT leaving everything until the last day. I’m not entirely sure what my rationale was last month, but there was about a weeks worth of work crammed into the hours of the 1st of August. Hence the incredibly high stress levels.

Never. Again.

Only 72 hours until I will be hitting that publish button, throwing more of our creative work out into the blogosphere for your enjoyment. As with last issue there is an interesting and exciting mix of work, everything from short stories to poetry to creative non-fiction to photography. Here’s a glimpse of what I’m up to, collating and editing your work.

IMG_5341

The idea behind the magazine is that it should have something in it for everyone. It is a magazine that is designed to be skipped through at random, allowing you to dive in when something grabs your attention and sparks your interest. It is a collective of imaginative work that will hopefully inspire you to create something of your own; it may even introduce you to styles and methods of writing and poetry that you haven’t encountered before.

issue two

If your particular style of creative work is not featured in the magazine, that is a fantastic reason to submit it for issue three! Visit the page The Paperbook Collective above for more details.

I’ve been taking snippets of time out of my day to read Aldous Huxley’s A Brave New World, which I haven’t read for years. For those of you who have read it, you will understand how mind-blowing it is. For those of you who haven’t read it, stay tuned for a book review coming up soon! It’s been absolutely miserable here all day, howling winds and bucketing rain, so I used that as an excuse for a little afternoon reading session tucked up with Zeus. I could have stayed there all day, but, alas, far too much to do.

IMG_5346

 

On that note, I have decided to open up The Paperbook Blog to a few guest posts! This was never something that I intended to do, but the sheer volume of work I have on means I am not able to post as many book reviews as I would like to. So, if you are literary minded and enjoy reading and reviewing books, take note!

In addition to book reviews I would also be interested in getting some pieces about your favourite authors, book stores, etc. Basically anything that is book related…however (and I can’t stress this enough) your pieces must be based on PAPER BOOKS!! I am irritatingly old-fashioned, I know, but I make no apologies for it. I have nothing against your e-reader, mind you, I’m just saying it has no place on The Paperbook Blog. Share your physical, not your virtual, bookshelf with me.

IMG_0200

This is the grass-root movement towards the resurgence of the humble paper book, so get involved. To blatantly steal the words of my friend Andrew (see his blog here):

Make Paperbooks, Not War! 

By the way Andrew, I’m running with this. Thanks for the inspiration.

I will be posting details tomorrow about the ins and outs of my guest blog posts, so stay tuned. I will also be updating The Paperbook Collective page tomorrow, so make sure you check it out.

Finally, make sure you pop over to the Facebook page and hit that like button for your daily dose of my Paperbook world. The Facebook page will also be getting a facelift tomorrow (sounds like I’m having a busy day tomorrow!) so click on the button below to head over and take a look.

images[9]

 

To finish up with a beautiful quote about the humble book:

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counsellors, and the most patient of teachers.

– Charles William Elliot.

***

Go read one.

10 Comments

  1. Oh how I wish my books were out being displayed and not in boxes. We’re still working on that issue. Enjoy Brave New World again. It’s a great piece of literature.

    • Just do what I’ve done Princess and line up stack of them along the wall!! Only a tiny fraction of mine fits in the bookshelf, the rest line the wall in the hallway 🙂

Leave a Reply

