The Paperbook Collective
Comments 24

Behind the Screen.

Do you ever check your statistics and marvel over the countries in which your blog is being read? I do. Constantly.

That is the true beauty of the Internet, isn’t it. We can write something in the quiet solitude of our house, sipping on our morning coffee, perhaps listening to some soothing tunes, and as soon as we click that ‘publish’ button people from all over the world, in hundreds of different countries in dozens of different time zones can read it instantaneously. It still blows me away.

And that, my friends, was part of the logic behind forming The Paperbook Collective.

There is something so incredible about getting emails from all over the world containing brilliant and beautiful creative works, putting them all together to form a collective, and sending it back out into the world, to be downloaded and read in your home. My statistics show me where in the world the magazine is being read, but they don’t show me the reality behind the readership. I guess, in some small way, that is the downside to the anonymity of the Internet.

***

Last week I received an email from one of my contributors, Princess del Oso. Check out her blog – Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle, and look out for her work in issue’s one and two of The Paperbook Collective!

She sent me this picture, which I absolutely adore for a number of reasons. Firstly, she is reading The Paperbook Collective. Secondly, she is drinking Jamesons. Thirdly, she is listening to Led Zepplin. What a cool lady.

proncess

This picture came to me all the way from the Pacific Northwest U.S.A.

And it triggered the thought ~ wouldn’t it be cool to SEE where else it’s being read, rather than just reading a faceless statistic?

So here we are folks, a collection of photographs from all over the world.

***

The Open Road.

Angela Jordan

Listening to: ‘My 9 year old son playing ‘minecraft’ on laptop…ugh!’

Drinking: A glass of white wine with sparkling water, mango juice and three slices of lime.

You can check out this mum’s work on her blog, Making Meaning.

***

Hasselholm, Sweden.

Fjärilar 027

Listening to: ‘My dogs playing outside!’

Drinking: Home-made elderberry wine.

You can check out Leya’s work on her blog, Leya, as well as in issue one of The Paperbook Collective!

***

Wairamarama, New Zealand.

Bruce Goodman

Listening to: ‘The dawn chorus, birds singing outside my window at 6am’.

Drinking: Morning coffee

You can check out Brieuse’s work on his blog, A Story A Day.

***

Nokomis, Florida, U.S.A.

Mary Ellen McMahon

Listening to: ‘The priceless silence before dawn.’

Drinking: The nectar of Gods: COFFEE!

You can check out Mary’s work on her two blogs, Grandma Says and A Dream Come True.

***

Linkoping, Sweden.

Fredriq Palmkevist

Listening to: ‘Ne me quitte pas performed by Édith Piaf’.

Drinking: Dr. Pepper.

You can check out Fredrik’s work on his blog, Fredrik Kayser.

***

Queensland, Australia.

Gin + Tonic

Listening to: ‘Jem – Falling For You’.

Drinking: Cocoa tea

You can check out Gin’s work on her blog, Gin plus Tonic.

***

Cebu, Phillipines. 

Camera 360

Listening to: ‘I Just Don’t Wanna Be Lonely by Ronnie Dyson’

Drinking: Iced Tea

You can check out The Vanilla Housewife’s work on her blog, Fascinations of a Vanilla Housewife.

***

Warenton, Virginia, U.S.A.

Kristy Feltenberger

Listening to: ‘the movie “Olympus Has Fallen” in the background’

Drinking: Water.

You can check out Kristy’s work on her blog, Keep Calm and Write On.

***

Boyup Brook, Western Australia. 

Kyle Merideth

Listening to: ‘Opeth – Blackwater Park’.

Drinking: Jack Daniels, straight.

You can check out Tempests artwork on his Facebook page, Art Of Darknessand in issue one of The Paperbook Collective!

***

Vigo, Northwest Spain. 

Paula Goberna

Listening to: ‘”Horses” by Patti Smith.

Drinking: Coffee

You can check out Paula’s work on her blog, find a girl who reads, and in issue one of The Paperbook Collective!

***

Athens, Ohio, U.S.A.

John Robinson

Listening to: ‘The Piano Guys: “Lord of the Rings—The Hobbit”’

Drinking: Coffee.

You can check out John’s work on his blog, The Daily Graff, as well as in issue one of The Paperbook Collective!

***

Amritapuri, Kerala, India.

Sreejit Poole

Listening to: ‘Alternating between hip-hop and jazz.’

Drinking: Always there should be coffee within reaching distance.

You can check out Sreejit’s work on his blog, The Seeker’s Dungeon.

***

Midwest, U.S.A.

Sahm King

Listening to: ‘A podcast, Hardcore History with Dan Carlin.’

Drinking: Coffee.

You can check out Sahm’s work on his blog, The Arkside of Thought.

***

A special mention must go out to Bastet of Bastet and Sekhmet
for her poetic interpretation of the photo challenge, which you can see here.

***

So there it is folks, a tiny insight into the world behind the screen. We drink a lot of coffee, don’t we?! A huge thank you to everyone who took the time to send in a photo. As I mentioned, my five favourites will be featured in next months issue of The Paperbook Collective, set to be released September 1st, 2013.

Don’t forget guys, only FIVE DAYS LEFT until submissions close for issue two, so if you’re finishing off your pieces now is the time to send them in!

Have a great weekend guys!

24 Comments

  1. I love this yes we do drink a lot of coffee. I am right now and I love this blog post. Have a super day from Oklahoma USA. Where the wind comes sweeping down the plains!

  2. I love this blog post. It is amazing that we can become close friends with someone in India or France and not leave our house! I’m glad you shared this. Have a super day!

    • Thanks Michelle! Yes it is certainly an amazing thing isn’t it, the connections we can make using nothing but our words 🙂 I’m glad you liked the post!

  3. This was a really great idea. Helped me appreciate that MY blog is being read all over the world (by people who are listening to music/ambient sounds and drinking beverages).

    • I agree. I love seeing countries that I have never been to (or sometimes never heard of!) where my blog is being read. It is extremely cool 🙂

      • kingmidget says

        I’m going to send you my picture soon. I’m amazed that people don’t actually put their laptops where they belong … in their laps.

  4. Thank you Jayde for the lovely shout out! It truly is amazing how this little “notebook” of plastic and wires can connect so many people from so many places. Well, off to get my first cup of coffee. Cheers to all.

  5. I intended to send the photo but I got confused about the deadline.
    By the way, I also love how the blog community can link us together around the world.

  6. Lovely idea and you made something creative of it too! Strange how the stats with its flags and countries can make me happy too. Thank you for showing us a piece of the blogging world from yet another angle. Cheers to you all – here’s my coffee!

    • Thanks Leya! It was cool to see what’s happening behind the screens isn’t it. Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for taking part 🙂

    • Sure does Sahm! I think we have a world wide addiction don’t we 🙂 Thanks for the props, and thanks for taking part 🙂

  7. Pingback: Dear Editor… | The Paperbook Blog.

Leave a Reply

