The Paperbook Collective
Comments 21

Challenge Accepted.

I had an extremely lethargic, lazy, quiet, simple (slightly hungover) day yesterday. It was lovely. But it’s over now.

And I’m back in blog land, jumping in with two feet or back up on the horse…or however that saying goes.

Firstly, a gigantic THANKYOU to everyone and anyone who has re-blogged, tweeted, Facebooked, or otherwise shared issue one of The Paperbook Collective.

The idea for the magazine was initially inspired by the wonder that is the blogging community – the encouragement and support that flows through the screen from around the world. Well I am happy to say I was not disappointed. The online world is really quite incredible sometimes. You guys rock.

For those of you who have jumped on board The Paperbook Blog in the past few days, I am providing the links to The Paperbook Collective. It is a free online magazine filled with work from around the world, submitted by bloggers just like you! It is available in two formats:

A downloadable PDF:

The Paperbook Collective_Issue One2013

and an online magazine format:

The Paperbook Collective_Issue One2013

EPSON MFP image

Check it out. Peruse at leisure. Get inspired.

A few people have pointed out to me, very correctly, that the challenge lies now in keeping momentum, and ensuring that each issue is stronger and better than the last. And to that, I say, challenge accepted!

I already have a few submissions for issue two (thankyou to those who have submitted) so for the rest of you, get your creative caps on and email your work through! There is really no restrictions as far as content goes; no matter what your creative outlet is, it belongs in The Paperbook Collective. You will notice the little counter on the right hand side of the blog, reminding you how long there is to go until submissions close for issue two.

20th August.

Don’t miss out.

Here are a few suggestions for things that didn’t appear in issue one:

  • travel writing
  • recipes
  • crafts and handiwork (you can submit photographs of your work)
  • other creative stuff (sorry, it’s early and my coffee hasn’t kicked in. I’m sure I’ll think of more later)

For those who feel that they belong in issue two, here is a submission form for you. Download it, fill it out and email it through to jayde.ashe@hotmail.com

Submission Form_The Paperbook Collective

I am not sure if this form will work on Mac computers, I still haven’t entirely grasped the intricacies of Mac vs. PC. But I know it is a long and tedious (and inconvenient) war. So if you can’t read or download this form, just be sure to include the following details with your submission:

  • Name
  • Published name/pseudonym
  • Country of origin
  • 50 word bio
  • Piece for considerationย (obviously)

Please submit photographs in a Word Document or copied directly into your email, they are much easier to access that way. There is an 800 word limit on submissions but if your piece is longer we can spread it across two issues, so don’t be afraid to submit. The only major rule is that your work must be original, it can’t have images or text copied from the internet, and it must be unpublished,ย meaning it hasn’t already featured on your blog or other online accounts. Think of it as an awesome opportunity to design, create or write something entirely new!

For those of you who haven’t already, pop over to the Facebook page and check it out. Between now and issue two I will be filling it with reminders, suggestions and inspiration, so click the old ‘like’ button if you think its worth a look. To go straight there, click the image below.

images[9]

click me!

I’ll just finish with another magnificent display of gratitude to anyone who has taken the time to read, share, like, and give feedback on issue one of The Paperbook Collective. It is always difficult to venture into the unknown, so I am extremely grateful for your support along the way.

Have a great weekend everybody.

Almost always, the creative minority has made the world better.

~ Martin Luther King.ย 

21 Comments

  1. I’ve tested downloading your submission form to my Macbook and it works fine despite its docx extension. I could edit and save it in my mac. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Jayde, I hadn’t gotten a chance to come on your blog earlier this week -work had me pretty busy- but I just wanted to let you know on behalf of Pork Belly Times that the magazine looks absolutely killer and I’m happy to have been included in the first issue. I hope the second issue is an even greater success. keep up the great work.
    -David

  3. Thanks very much David! I loved working with your hilarious haiku’s, I hope to see more in future issues! Thanks for being involved ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King and commented:
    My friends, this is a great initiative, brought to you by Jayde Ashe at the Paper Book Blog. Presenting her magazine, the Paper Book Collective. The first issue is up and it’s free online. You can download it or view it online. Get on over to her blog when you have the chance and check this out. It’s really incredible the work that’s gone into this, and it’s featuring artists and bloggers just like YOU! Check out what she’s cooking up!

  5. Jayde–There is a danger to opening up an issue to be a catch-all for whatever people send you. The beauty of Issue One is that it is a literary and artistic magazine which will attract a certain readership. Recipes and crafts are not on the same level. Rarely is a recipe someone’s pure invention (significantly different from other recipes out there), and a knit scarf is seldom someone’s original design (other than choosing the colors). I recommend focusing on the creativity involved in writing and in the visual arts: photography, drawing, painting, sculpture, etc. I make sculptures out of recyclable materials, and I would contend that a photo of one of them would be appropriate (not a “craft”). Whereas an issue of your magazine is โ€œFood for the Mind,โ€ I could see adding ONE recipe at the very end of each issue as โ€œFood for the Body.โ€ In general, I think adding recipes and photos of craft projects would water down the reputation of The Paperbook Collective issues and would cost you the readers you really want.

    • Jayde–I apologize for jumping in with both feet in my comment above. The magazine should be whatever YOU want it to be, not a reader’s conception of it. This is your creation, and you should take it in any direction you want. After all, yours was the vision that launched this incredible project. –John

  6. Reblogged this on Bloodwords and commented:
    If you’re a creative person or just like being creative, it sometimes is hard to keep momentum. Being a part of a community and contributing, sharing, or at least commenting and clicking that little ‘like’ button can mean a lot. Here is a great compilation of work from peeps like you and I for you to read or contribute. Please check it and spread it.
    Goldbot

    • Absolutely! Providing they are your own images and do not appear anywhere on the Internet already. I would love to feature more haikus!

Leave a Reply

