Magazine
Comments 18

I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead…

I’m sorry I’ve abandoned you.

Please don’t hold it against me.

I’m sure most of you are well aware of the deadline that looms in front of me…August 1st. I’m not kidding, it’s imprinted on the back of my eyelids, I swear. Five days to go. Five days until the first ever Paperbook Magazine goes public, hopefully to a small smattering of applause. My own, mostly.

Rest assured it’s coming together nicely, if slowly. Contributors, fear not, I am receiving your emails, and I will be responding in the next few days with edits and so on. Fellow bloggers, I’m sorry I haven’t had one second spare to peruse your latest offerings, but please believe me when I say that as soon as this bloody magazine comes out, I’ll be hitting up your pages non-stop. Champagne in hand, hopefully.

I also wanted to send you all a virtual high five, because I have just reached 600 followers! 604, to be precise. WordPress doesn’t even give us a notification for having 600 followers, as though it’s not exciting and worthy of mention. Well, sorry WP, but I think it is. So I made my own celebration notification. I am extremely excited and happy and grateful to anyone who has bothered to click the follow button, and come along for the ride on The Paperbook Blog. Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou.

IMG_5161

Yay.

So, why the dramatic post title? Well, you know me, I just don’t know when to stop. You may remember a recent post on fonts, we all had a good yarn about how much we adore them, and so on, so forth. Well…I have decided to create my own. Yes, that’s right, because I just had so much free time on my hands. I’m an idiot, I agree. But I just felt that a creative online magazine, which I keep telling you must be fresh and original, could not simply reuse a font created by an unknown hand. This is just for the cover page, by the way, I’m not completely insane.

IMG_5158

Sneak peak

I have also created a Facebook page, again, because I have so much time to kill. Fool. It’s in its very early stages, but jump over there and hit that ‘like’ button to get updates and sneak peaks of the magazine as it comes together over the next five days. Click the icon below. Or don’t. Either way. It’s your call.

images[9]

Click me

At this stage most of the magazine is scattered in draft form around my office, or tacked to this board which I am optimistically calling my innovative ideas board. Seeing as I haven’t even decided if the magazine should be in portrait A4 size or landscape A5, you think I would be spending my time more productively but hey. It’s how I roll. I would like to believe I work well under pressure…we will soon find out, won’t we.

IMG_5154

Ideas board

Last but definitely not least, release time. I have decided to release the magazine at 5.00pm, Western Australian time. Yes, slightly cheeky as it does give me most of Thursday to do final touch ups, but hey, some of you out there won’t even be awake at 5pm my time.

For those of you on the East Coast of U.S.A it will be 5am.
For those of you on the West Coast of U.S.A. it will be 2am.
For those of you in England it will be 10am.
For those of you in South Africa it will be 11am.
For those of you in India it will be 2.30pm.
For those of you in New Zealand it will be 9pm.

Sorry New Zealand.

Also, sorry if those times are slightly out but I am very very tired. Time for a super strong coffee I think. I might not get a chance to post on here until the magazine is released, so pop over to the Facebook page for quick updates.

Just a reminder, I am accepting submissions for issue two, so do email them through whenever you like: jayde.ashe@hotmail.com

For more information on the Paperbook Magazine visit the page at the top right hand corner of the blog.

Cheers everyone. See you on the other side.

18 Comments

  1. I need an ideas board. Right now it’s in my head. Like it’s not crowded enough there. I had to provide seating arrangements for my characters.

    • Haha – seating arrangements – I love it. The problem with an ideas board though is that you stick everything up and then it is just as messy as your mind is anyway! Looks good though 🙂

  2. Well Jayde, you can certainly balance a lot of balls in the air at once. I was going to submit something but was sidetracked by my trip up to Alaska. I’ve never done multitasking well! Congrats on 600. You have worked hard for it. I will hit 500 this week so I aprreciate the amount of effort it takes. -Curt

    • Thanks Curt. Wow, a trip to Alaska sounds just what I need right now! I hope you will submit something for issue two, submissions are open until 20th August so plenty of time!

  3. Kira says

    Congrats on the 604 followers!!! I hope you get some sleep soon. I’m really look forward to your magazine’s debut…very exciting 🙂

Leave a Reply

