Awards
Comments 16

Sunshine on a Rainy Day.

When I woke up this morning and dropped my boyfriend off at work, the giant thermometer near our house said 3°. THREE DEGREES!! Needless to say it is making long hours at the computer hard. I am wearing an outrageous combination of woollen things, including fingerless gloves and a Russian hat. I look like the Michelin man. It’s going to be really awkward if someone decides to drop by today…

However, I’ve had a little bit of sunshine come my way. It has come in the form of a few award nominations, all from amazing blogs that I love. I’m cheating and combining all of them into one post, mainly because I can’t sit at the computer too long before my toes start to freeze.

(By the way, I know for a lot of people 3ºC is not that cold. But I come from Western Australia. It gets up to 45ºC here. I am not used to this level of chill. Hence the melodrama.)

My first nomination comes from an absolutely wonderful blogger over at Ajaytao 2010. His blog is so great that he was nominated for 11 awards, so he asked us to pick one of them. I picked this one, the Epically Awesome Award Of Epic Awesomeness, mainly because I enjoy the melodramatic hyperbole of its title. Who makes these things up?

Because I have no idea of the rules for this award, I am simply going to pass it on to five blogs who are epically awesome.

My nominees are:

Your blogs are epically awesome guys.

______________________________________

My second nomination came from Beth over at Beth’s Brilliant Books, which is a beautiful book filled, writing, bloggy space, well worth a visit and a look around. She has nominated me for the Sunshine Award, exactly what I need to brighten up this miserable day! Thanks Beth! Image

The rules for this award are as follows:

  1. Post the logo above
  2. Accept the nomination and link back to the blog that nominated you
  3. Share seven things about yourself
  4. Nominate blogs and inform them of the nomination

Seven things:

  1. Reading is my obsession and addiction (but you knew that already)
  2. I have a tabby cat named Zeus who likes to sit in front of my computer screen while I’m typing
  3. My favourite country in the world is Cambodia, I can’t wait to go back
  4. I still have all my Enid Blyton books from when I was young
  5. My favourite artist is Salvador Dali, I have a huge repro painting of his Metamorphosis of Narcissus
  6. I get up at 5am every morning to write
  7. I am in desperate need of a coffee

My nominees are:

  1. Writing Strange
  2. write meg!
  3. if all else fails…use a hammer
  4. Typing Loud and Knowing Nothing
  5. Everyone is Welcome!
  6. Wandering through time and place
  7. books by trista

______________________________________

 

My third nomination comes from Dear Kitty. Some Blog, which is an insanely interesting blog about the world around us. Again, well worth heading over and checking out, but be warned, there are so many interesting posts there that you might be distracted for hours!

Shine On Award

The rules for this award are as follows:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State 7 things about yourself

4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.

5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award requirements.

Seven things:

See above.

My nominees are:

  1. Write Drunk. Edit Sober.
  2. whenlifegivesyouletters
  3. The Writers’ Journey
  4. bambangpriantono
  5. Nancy Runs & Writes
  6. A Holistic Journey
  7. Jordan Royl

I know that’s only 7 but 15 is a little bit extreme……

__________________________________

My final nomination comes from the lovely lady over at Completely Disappear. Her blog is full of wonderful photos and interesting stories, all the more impressive as it is written in English as opposed to her native Thai!

She has nominated me for the Super Sweet Blog Award.

Cupcake4

The rules for this award are as follows:

  1. Thank the Super Sweet Blogger that nominated you.
  2. Answer the five super sweet questions (below).
  3. Include the Super Sweet Blogging Award in your blog post (above).
  4. Nominate a baker’s dozen (13) other bloggers.
  5. Notify your nominees on their blog.

The questions:

  • Cookies or Cake? Cookies
  • Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate for sure
  • Favourite Sweet Treat? Chocolate
  • When do you crave sweet things the most? Is all day long an appropriate answer?
  • Sweet Nick Name? ????????? It is too early in the morning to come up with an answer to this…

My nominees are:

  1. Words We Women Write
  2. words become superfluous
  3. Keeping Up With Carol
  4. Claudia McGill Writes Poetry, Did You Know That?
  5. The Music of Fiction
  6. Odd Little Fragments

Again, only 6 rather than 13 but it’s early and I’m cold.

Ok, that’s me done for today. This was exhausting! Once again a huge thanks to the bloggers who nominated me.

To those I have nominated – there is no requirement whatsoever for you to accept or pass on these awards, if you don’t want to. They are simply a show of my appreciation for you and your blogs.

Have a great weekend everyone!

16 Comments

  1. Good for you and what interesting facts! I am so sorry that you are in such cold. It was about 32C here in Southern California today, so I understand your desire for warmer climes…

  2. Aw man, I vaguely remember what 32 degrees felt like…not looking forward to the weekend when it is apparently hitting zero!
    I considered nominating your awesome blog for each of these awards but I think you have got them all already….

  3. So you can help me – whenever you’ve thawed and can get around to it….How do I link properly, according to the rules? Don’t want to do wrong! Thanks!! Diana

  4. Thank you so much Jayde-Ashe on the nomination for the Sunshine Award. This truly made my day! Congratulations to you too!!!!

  5. Why Cambodia? And I meant to congratulate you on the string of awards. One who rises with the dawn to write (and then goes on to write well) deserves it!

    • Something about Cambodia really touched me when I visited. They went through the most horrific genocide only a few decades ago, something that would have significantly affected each person I met. And yet they were so open, so warm, friendly and welcoming. Everyone I met was always smiling and laughing, so happy to sit and chat with you. I loved it!
      I actually got ‘find strength’ tattooed on the back of my leg in Khmer (Cambodian language) as a reminder to be as strong and courageous as these amazing people. I now sponsor a girl in Phnom Penh, so I am really looking forward to meeting her one day!
      Sorry I always get carried away when I’m talking about Cambodia 🙂

  6. You reminded me I’ve always wanted a tattoo — that just might be the 7th thing about myself. Unless some other tidbit preempts it.

  7. Pingback: You are my sunshine… « if all else fails...use a hammer

  8. You know you’re doing something right to get so many great awards, way to go!

  9. Pingback: Sunny Suprises | booksbytrista

  10. My goodness, no wonder you are exhausted. It is just amazing how many awards you have got already, but I fully understand how much work they are!!

Leave a Reply

